दौसा की प्रमुख तस्वीरेदौसा का प्रशासकीय संघठनदौसा का मानचित्र
दौसा के पर्यटन स्थल
दौसा की सांख्यिकीय रूपरेखा
दौसा के महत्वपूर्ण नम्बर
दौसा तहसील,गाँव एवं कस्बे

Dausa District is a district of Rajasthan state in western India. The city of Dausa is the district headquarters. According to the 2011 census Dausa district has a population of 1,637,226, roughly equal to the nation of Guinea-Bissau or the US state of Idaho.This gives it a ranking of 305th in India (out of a total of 640).The district has a population density of 476 inhabitants per square kilometre (1,230 /sq mi) .Its population growth rate over the decade 2001-2011 was 24.31%.Dausa has a sex ratio of 904 females for every 1000 males, and a literacy rate of 69.17%.. It is bounded on the north by Alwar District, on the northeast by Bharatpur District, on the southeast by Karauli District, on the south by Sawai Madhopur District, and on the west by Jaipur District. The district is divided into five tehsils, Baswa, Dausa, Lalsot, Mahwa and Sikrai. The Sawa and Ban Ganga rivers run through the district. It is situated on National Highway no.11 From Jaipur to Agra. It is 55 km to the east of Jaipur. In Tehsil Mahwa there is a Gram Panchayat, Kherla Bujurg, it is famous for a record which was made during an election of member for legislative assembly Mahwa seat for Rajasthan Vidhan Sabha. All three candidates from National parties were resident this village, all of these three were from same cast (Gurjar), all were advocate by there profession. Eventually Hari Singh Gurjar was elected. BBC news services broadcast a special programme about it.
Dausa is named after a nearby hill called Devgiri.[clarification needed] On the top of hill is situated a fort, built by Badgujar Kings, who were the orininal rulers of this place. Later, Dausa was given by Chauhans to Kachwahas, but the centre of their power shifted to Amber.
When Akbar went to Ajmer as a pilgrim to Khwaja Moinuddin Chisti in 1562, he stayed in Dausa and met with Rupsi Baragi, Hakim of Dausa at the time and brother of Bharmal. Agriculture is the main occupation of the people of Dausa. The main crops of the district are wheat, bajra, rapeseed, mustard and groundnuts.


Coordinates 26.88°N 76.33°E
Country  India
State Rajasthan
District(s) Dausa
Population 61,5892001)
Time zone IST (UTC+5:30)
• Elevation 327 m (1,073 ft)


• Pincode 303303
• Telephone 01427
• Vehicle RJ-29


Dausa District was constituted on 10 April 1991 by separating 4 tehsils, namely Dausa, Baswa, Sikrai, karodi & Lalsot of Jaipur district. Mahwa Tehsil of Sawai Madhopur was included in this district on 15 August 1992.
The city of Dausa is situated in the north-eastern region of Rajasthan, a region widely known as Dhundhar it was ruled by Bargujars. Dausa was an important political place for Dhundhar region. The Bargujar ruler Manthan Dev ruled this region during 9th Centuary A.D. is evident from Rajor inscription.
Dausa has given prominent freedom fighters to the nation. Late Shri Tikaram Paliwal & Late Shri Ram Karan Joshi and Late haji rafeeq khan pathan dausa were amongst the freedom fighters who gave their valuable contribution for fight for independence and for amalgamation of the Princely States to form Rajasthan State. Late Shri Tikaram Paliwal was the first elected Chief Minister of Rajasthan in 1952 after independence. Also, Late Shri Ram Karan Joshi was the First Panchayati Raj Minister of the Rajasthan state who submitted the First Panchayati Raj Bill in the Vidhansabha in 1952.
The famous poet of the traditional worship by poetry, Sant Sunderdas was born on Chaitra Shukla Navami in Vikram Samvat 1653 in Dausa. He was a renowned Nirgun Panthi Sant and wrote 42 famous Grantha, out of which Gyan Sundaram & Sunder Vilas are famous.


Dausa is located at 26.88°N 76.33°E.It has an average elevation of 333 metres (1072 feet). It is one of the 7 Districts of Jaipur division and is surrounded by Jaipur, Alwar, Sawai Madhopur, Karauli, Bharatpur and Tonk. The total area is 3404.78 km2 in roughly C shape tampering towards east and west at corners. The soil of the district is yellowish to dark brown dominantly fine textured, generally suitable for all type of crops. The mountain ranges in Dausa are part of North Aravalli Range. Banganga and Morel are the major rivers in the area, these rivers have dried now and there are 36 dams.


Rail Network

The district is well connected by rail. It is on Delhi-Jaipur and Agra-Jaipur train route, which gives it great connectivity. District has also one important railway station, namely, Bandikui Junction.dausa railway station is a very important railway station of north western railway under jaipur division.

Road distances

NH 11 passes through the district. It covers about 85 km in the district which includes district headquarters, Sikandra and Mahwa. Dausa is 55 km from Jaipur on NH-11 and well connected with Agra, Delhi and other surrounding districts viz. Karouli, Sawai Madhopur and Bharatpur by road. Further, NH-11A also passes through the district covering Dausa & Lalsot Tehsil regions. Two Mega Highways, to be constructed by RIDCOR, namely Alwar to Sikandra (81 km) and Lalsot to Kota (195 km) will pass through the district. The district has four-lane facility on NH-11.

Leave a Reply